Repair shop for NYC or Northern NJ ???

Discussion in 'Trumpet Repair and Modification' started by TuffsNotEnuff, Feb 7, 2011.

1. TuffsNotEnuff

TuffsNotEnuff New Friend

Dec 23, 2010
    I started playing again (quite badly) with a Bach CR300 cornet. The horn is a beater, but it's much better than I am. Good valves.

Now I've gone nuts and bought a Bach 184 on impulse. This one is also a beater -- needs repairs for small dents to the shepherds crook.

Anyway, who do you guys recommend for a repair operation in Manhattan or Northern New Jersey ?

Also, what are typical maintenance tasks, how often are they needed, and what are typical fees ? I'm thinking about the spiffy ultrasonic cleaning. Maybe getting lacquer touched up too ?

Thank you all. :-)

2. trumpetsplus

trumpetsplus Fortissimo User

Jun 11, 2006
    South Salem, NY
    Ultrasonic or Chemical cleaning is required if there is mineral build up inside the tubing. This build up affects the playing characteristics, and can also attack the Zinc in the brass causing pittingand eventual perforation of the tubing, and red rot showing on the finish.

Re lacquering is cosmetic only, and can affect the playing characteristics because the buffing required to achieve a smooth polished surface removes metal. This removal of metal is minimized by true craftsmen. Do not send your instrument to a "metal finisher", send it instead to a brass instrument refinisher like Tom Green, Charlie Melk, Andersons, etc etc.

I am 1 hour north of Manhattan, so do not qualify. What do you have against a drive through the verdant pastures of Northern Westchester? Tappan See bridge from NJ then up the 684 :-(

You could try Josh Landress at Sam Ash in the polluted air of the city - give him my regards.

3. Bill McCloskey

Bill McCloskey Piano User

Apr 22, 2007
    Josh Landress does all my repair work. Highly recommended. Sam Ash on 48th street.

4. TuffsNotEnuff

TuffsNotEnuff New Friend

Dec 23, 2010