restoring an ambassador

Discussion in 'Vintage Trumpets / Cornets' started by trumpetgirl612, May 30, 2005.

1. trumpetgirl612

trumpetgirl612 Pianissimo User

Mar 30, 2005
    practice room 5
    i have a mid 1960's ambassador trumpet which was not well taken care of it what should have been its glory days

now, i see what may be evidence of red rot on places like the lead pipe, and possibly other majot parts of the horn

can i get the horn replated/resotred? or do i have to let it go?
    it would KILL be to let this horn go
    it was truly my first love....

2. nieuwguyski

nieuwguyski Forte User

Aug 9, 2004
    Santa Cruz County, CA
    Have a reputable repair tech look at your Ambassador. What you think is red rot may just be surface corrosion.

3. mike ansberry

mike ansberry Forte User

Dec 30, 2003
    Clarksville, Tennessee, U
    How bad is the red rot? Is the pipe leaking? Put your finger over one end and seal it. Then blow into it and see if it leaks. You can do the same for the other parts. If it isn't leaking, clean it out thoroughly. I don't know about a chemical bath for that horn. It might make the rotted spots start leaking.

Hey, Robert! Is there a product out there that will stop red rot?

4. trumpetgirl612

trumpetgirl612 Pianissimo User

Mar 30, 2005
    practice room 5
    no, no leaks
    hopefully it IS just surface corrosion
    i will have to take it to a horn guy
    ::crosses fingers::

5. Sturmbill

Sturmbill Pianissimo User

Feb 11, 2004
    Virginia
    Trumpetgirl,

If the pipe is gone just replace it. Look on eBay for frisco1227 or centex-brass. Both carry a lot of vintage Olds parts and are good guys to deal with.

Bill

6. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    I'm a bit spoiled in that a guy I gig with almost weekly is a talented brass repair tech. If I ever have any kind of problem, I just let Craig take it with him after the gig and he brings it back in tip top shape.