Restoring my 76' Strad

Discussion in 'Vintage Trumpets / Cornets' started by ScreaminRaider, Jan 6, 2005.

1. ScreaminRaider

ScreaminRaider Piano User

Apr 22, 2004
    San Antonio, Tx
    Hey ya'll, I am beginning the process of restoring my Strad, and I was wondering what everybody's opinion on what I am planning on doing.

Here we go:

First on the list is my lead pipe. It has a touch of red rot, so I am planning on getting a new one from Blackburn. I was thinking about going ahead and getting a reverse lead pipe and a new tuning slide to match....opinions?

Next I have to get the valve-casing rebuilt. This is where I am drawing a blank. I have no Idea who use on this little job.....opinions/suggestions?

and finally, I want to get Leigh over at Eclipse to do the replating. I have seen the work that he has done, and I can't think of anyone better. I just need to e-mail him and get prices from him.

So, there it is. I have never done any of this stuff before, so suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
    Jon

2. uatrmpt

uatrmpt Piano User

Nov 29, 2003
    AL
    If you're set on getting Leigh to do the work, I would get the Blackburn pipes shipped to you, so you can try it first, and then ship all of it to Leigh to get the pipe installed and to get the other work done all by the same person.

Right now, I'm getting a new leadpipe put on and some other stuff done to my '99 Strad by Charlie Melk. My horn really needs replating, but I just can't shell out the money right now for that.

3. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    Jon, I think that Leigh might be able to do valves as well. His business partner, Jon, is apparently "the valve guy". Might as well get it done all at one place, right? :D I'm sure Leigh could also manage a leadpipe... seein' as how he makes horns!