Ribbon or Condenser?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpet Dreamer, Jan 15, 2012.

1. Trumpet Dreamer

Trumpet Dreamer Mezzo Forte User

Aug 14, 2010
    Jazz Town, USA
    What type of mic is best for recording brass instruments, ribbon or condenser? The two condensers that have been used here sound very tubby, non trumpet like. Yes, I'm a 18 month student, but my playing is not that bad! The condensers do seem to be ideal for stringed instruments and vocals, though.

2. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA
    I think Tim on the following site has good success with a RIBBON

TimsTrumpetPlace

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    ribbon mikes can be blown to bits outdoors. They are the least durable. Condenser mikes self destruct when they get wet or even damp.

No mike works well at close distance without EQ,

Which mike that you use depends on where you play and what you are trying to do. If you only can afford one trumpet mike, Shure SM57 or 58. I have had very good luck in the studio with a large membrane condenser like a Neumann TLM103. On stage, clip on mikes like the Audio Technica ATM350 do a great job of limiting feedback and inconvenience to the musicians.

Again: close miking creates what is a called the "proximity effect" which greatly exeggerates the low frequencies. It MUST be eq'ed out. The only way to record without EQ is to find the sweet spot in a good sounding room - generally about 30 to 50 feet away from the instruments (depending on the room).

4. Brad-K

Brad-K Piano User

Jun 18, 2011
    Proximity effect doesn't occur noticeably until within about a foot or so. And doesn't occur at all to omnidirectional mics.

And, proximity effect isn't necessarily an evil thing. It can be used to give a bit of body to a given sound. I love it on my vocals.

30'-50' away....well....that's incredibly far in the miking world.