Routines for Higher notes?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by msodasoccer51, Jan 3, 2009.

1. msodasoccer51

msodasoccer51 New Friend

Sep 1, 2008
    I am looking for some ideas as to a good warm-up, practice, and warm-down that will help build my upper register, I can currently play an E above the C above staff solid, but the F is squeaky. I have talked to a trumpet player names Jari Vallanueva, and he recommended Max Schlossberg's 'Daily Drills & Technical Studies for trumpet. I was also hoping for some other exercises that will build my upper register, yet help not affect my lower register.

P.S. Right now I am a freshman in high school if that makes a difference.

2. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

Practice (lots of it)
    schlossberg is a good book
    long tones can help
    caruso exercises

overall, range just eventually develops, The idea is to be able to play comfortably up there, so one thing that helped me was playing up there more (if you have the clarke technical exercises, play the high ones)

3. TisEkard

TisEkard Pianissimo User

Jul 28, 2006
    L.A./Orange County CA
    James Stamp has expanded my range, but like any exercise, in order to get results you have to make sure you are doing it correctly. I used to play a lot of high note exercises but got nowhere. But with proper guidance, practice and knowledge I was able to overcome my range difficulties.

4. oldlips48

oldlips48 Piano User

Mar 1, 2007
    The Cat Anderson Trumpet Method is available online as a PDF. You can print out the whole thing or individual sections. Emphasizes holding long notes, then arpeggios. Some of the exercises are playing the same note for minutes at a time.

Ken Saul has some interesting high note exercises at the Ultrapure Oils website: http://www.ultrapureoils.com/pdf/high_range_exercise.pdf

There are not shortcuts. You've got to build up the muscles in the embochure.