Sacrifices for Trumpet Practice

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by john7401, Nov 9, 2010.

1. john7401

john7401 Pianissimo User

Jul 3, 2009
    I'm going into my junior year of high school and this year the work has really been getting to me. Hopefully it will be a lot easier now that marching band season is over, and I'm getting used to the classes and amounts of work. Up till now I have been a pretty solid A student. My GPA at the end of last year was something like a 3.85-3.95 because I got two A-'s or an A-/B+ combo for a final grade in two classes. This years first quarter grades were in and exculuding band and chemistry, I had B's and B+'s. This was with staying up into the night which had never had to be an issue before with me for getting school work done.

My parents are now telling me though, that I'm not allowed to touch the trumpet at all if there is a day when I don't think I can get everything done. This was happening alot, partly because of marching band. I do get nearly all of it done though, but it does require staying up into the night regularly with other activities I do. I'd literally die if I couldn't practice regualrly.

If you have stuck around long enough to get to this point, or skipped it, here is the question.

At what point does school get sacrificed for playing IF trying to go for a playing career?

2. Dark Knight

Dark Knight Pianissimo User

Apr 7, 2010
    Canada
    Many things can happen to a player (sports or music). Never, ever, sacrifice your education for anything. School must always come first, and grades can be your meal ticket for scholarships and a bright future should anthing unforseen happen to your abilty to play your trumpet.