Scales...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by trumpet blower88, Dec 12, 2005.

1. trumpet blower88

trumpet blower88 Mezzo Piano User

Jun 15, 2005
    Flagstaff, AZ
    I made a mistake about 5 or 6 years ago that I'm really starting to regret. In 7th and 8th grade, when I just started playing trumpet we would have scale test each week, or every two weeks, something like that. Anyways, we were supposed to have the scale memorized by the end of the week, and then we played it infront of the class and for a grade. Well, I confess. I cheated... Every week I would turn the stand backwards (faceing my teacher) to show that I didn't have my scale sheet out, but being the awful person I was I taped a paper to the back of the stand with all the fingerings on it, so I never really got them memorized. I didn't think it was a big deal back then becuase I thought I'd be like the other 95% of the class who get out of highschool and just give up on music all together. Turns out that now I want to go into music education, and to get into the school of music at the university, I'm going to need to know my scales.

Honestly, I don't know how I made it this far withought all my scales memorized, I'm always sitting in the top couple chairs, and I even made Symphony at my school, but I'm the only one that dosn't know my scales. Now to get ready for my college audition in March, I have to basicaly cram to learn my scales. I've got a few down just because I've played alot of music in those keys, like C, D, E, F, G, Eb, and Bb. But I'm still having major problems with the others.

Does anyone have any advise on memorizing scales? Is there some weird secret that will just make it all click for me, or is it just one of those things where I'm going to have to spend an hour in the practice room every day just working on scales?

2. Jimi Michiel

Jimi Michiel Forte User

Mar 22, 2005
    Boston
    Arbans, p 59-74

3. Derek Reaban

Derek Reaban Mezzo Piano User

Jun 16, 2005