Scam Artist

Discussion in 'TM Lounge' started by Tootsall, Jan 22, 2004.

1. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003
    Yee HAW!
    I just received this email from someone. I'm kind of thinking it might be fun to play with his mind a little bit. I'll open a "faked" yahoo address and work from there. Anybody have any quick suggestions? I'm thinking that I might advise him that I would be pleased to assist him with his little problem but since I'm a professional engineer my time is worth $150 per hour plus dispensations and that I have a one hour minimum billing period. Since it took me 5 minutes to read his email and doubtless at least another hour to compose a response worthy of his propsal, he can start by sending me $300 plus costs (based on internet useage, electricity, overhead, etc).

Give it a read and drop a note here as to any other suggestions you might have. This could be fun. When things really get going I'll just forward his "proposal" to the RCMP "scambusters". (Isn't the .ZA in the address Zaire?) Naturally, due to confidentiality concerns, I am prohibited from sending my phone number, bank account numbers, etc. however I could always arrange to meet with the man at a relatively safe location (try some place in the middle of the tundra of Northern Canada!) I'll even let him arrive first to ensure his personal safety! :)

Quote:

[email protected] <[email protected]>

Dear Sir/Madam,

I guess this letter may come to you as surprise since I had no previous correspondence with you. I am the chairman tender board of the independent national electoral commission (INEC). I got your contact in my search for a reliable person to handle a very confidential transaction involving the transfer of the sum of $14.5,000.000 d0llars (Fourteen Million Five hundred Thousand United States Dollars) the above fund is not