second valve drags

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Jack M, Aug 28, 2009.

1. Jack M

Jack M New Friend

Jun 22, 2009
    CT
    Hi,
    I have an 1968 Olds Ambassador Cornet that has a wonderful sound to it, but the second valve often sticks or returns slowly after being pressed. This is especially true when playing slow notes.

I'd love to get it working properly, but don't want to sink a fortune into it. I'd appreciate any advice you might offer. The other two valves ( 1 & 3) work just fine.

I look forward to your suggestions.

Thanks!
    Jack

2. RUFocused

RUFocused Pianissimo User

Apr 26, 2009
    Cedar Rapids, IA
    Taking the Horn to your local shop shouldn't cost a fortune, They will tell you how much they think it will cost before they do it, so you can always turn and walk away.
    I have the same issue with my Cornet, but it's the 3rd valve that i have issues with.I had the casing shocked back to straight, and I had a tiny bit metal lapsed off, still does it alittle, but I just oil and play and it is slowly getting better (although when I empty my 3rd slide H2O key it is dark)
    I would take it to your tech and they can diagnose it for you (usually free) and then tell you the cost to fix it. You can choose what to do then.

Good Luck,
    Jason

3. VetPsychWars

VetPsychWars Fortissimo User

Nov 8, 2006
    Greenfield WI
    Sometimes "excessive" cleaning helps. Take your cheesecloth and swab all of the valves out every day for two weeks.

Tom

4. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA