Seeking tips for sax player wanting to play trumpets

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by simso, Jan 21, 2010.

1. simso

simso Pianissimo User

Jul 1, 2009
    Australia, Perth
    Okay folks, firsltly, I repair instruments for a living,

Woodwind is my specialty, but I also do brass work which seems to be increasing daily "rapidly"

I can play sax, oboe, clarinet, flute bassoon and all variations of each

But I cannot play brass. I have persisted with online tutorials and you tube etc for almost a year now with no success, I still struggle to generate a note

Last week I bit the bullet and went and started to get private lessons, but I still even after private lessons cannot blow a single note properly, my teacher said it will simply come, now that was last week and Ive been practising every day

My question is as follows, online videos show that we shape our face with the Mmm frown and then buzz our lips and place the mpc on and wolla theres the sound, my teacher saids we dont buzz our lips before hand simply Mmm frown and then breathe out through the stomach and the note will occur. Well as you can guess nothing is occuring my next lesson is tommorrow and after a week I still cannot generate a single tone.

Any hints ideas guides please

2. nieuwguyski

nieuwguyski Forte User

Aug 9, 2004
    Santa Cruz County, CA
    If only to get the feel of producing a buzz, my suggestion would be to start on a lower instrument. I spent my younger years playing low brass and I honestly think that tone production is easier on a larger mouthpiece.

Your teacher's comments on buzzing will probably spark some controversy.

Speaking of buzzing, can you buzz your lips without a mouthpiece?

3. simso

simso Pianissimo User

Jul 1, 2009
    Australia, Perth
    Yeh I can pull an Mmm frown and buzz away, but I cannot raise or lower the pitch whilst buzzing, eg like the bumble bee

4. mush-mouth

mush-mouth Pianissimo User

Aug 3, 2009
    Last edited: Jan 21, 2010