Serious help needed!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ADDER, Sep 10, 2008.

1. ADDER

ADDER Pianissimo User

May 25, 2008
    London UK
    Hi all.
    I really need help on what to practice.
    Let me give you some info on what's happening in my life.
    I'm currently studying to become a London black Taxi driver and all my time is taken up trying to learn the 25000 streets of London plus the 10000 points of interest in London, I started playing the Trumpet just over three months ago because I had played it as a kid and loved it, I get just under two hours a day freetime from my studies to become a cabby so I really need some kind of routine that will maximize those two hours.

I've been a musician since the age of 14, Guitar, Keys, Bass, vocals etc.
    I have a very good ear and a limited amount of theory. (I can read but slowly)

Thing is, all I seem to do in the hour and half or so I get to play is go over songs I have worked out by ear, ie 'Alfie' by Mr Bacharach... although I'm getting quite good at playing that....

A tutor is totally out of the question at the moment, I just don't have the funds until I get my cab licence in June 2009, (I will then get a good tutor)

I have the Arbans book but have no idea what I should be practising from it.

I try to start off with Long tones, then slurs then a couple of scales but I always end up playing 'From Russia With Love' or something else...

I have no structure to my practice...

Can anyone help? I just need some kind of routine that will help me improve.
    My range at the moment is Low F# to A above the stave.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
    Cheers
    Adder
    :oops:

2. MJ

MJ Administrator Staff Member

Jan 30, 2006
    Naptown
    Can't you use a GPS for the Taxi?

3. ADDER

ADDER Pianissimo User

May 25, 2008
    London UK
    Not if you want to work for THE best Cab service in the world....
    :D

4. fraserhutch

fraserhutch Mezzo Piano User

Jan 23, 2004
    Novato, CA, USA