SERIOUS Range Deterioration - I'd really appreciate any suggestions

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by surfingmusicman, Jul 24, 2012.

1. surfingmusicman

surfingmusicman New Friend

Nov 17, 2011
    Sorry for the long post. I thought it would helpful to give some background before asking about my issue. If you can make it through my rambling, I’d really, really appreciate any advice anyone might have.

History

I’m a bit of a comeback player. I was fairly serious about trumpet when I was younger (I’m 33 now)---got a music major in college and all that jazz. But I ended up pursuing a different career path and I set the trumpet aside for the bulk of my 20’s.

I started playing again casually a couple years ago. Then, I’m not sure what happened, but about 10 months ago a real fire started in me and I’m hitting it hard again.

Range Improvement

Earlier this year I finally admitted to myself that my range needed work. For basically my entire life, my playable range topped out at a high C (two ledger lines above the staff) or D. So, I took a couple lessons early this year with one of the top guys in town to work on it.

He showed me some techniques and, to my surprise, my range exploded! I’d always thought I wasn’t trying hard enough or that my body wasn’t built for high notes. Turns out, there’s a technique to playing high and I’d just never learned how to do it.

I started gaining serious ground every few weeks. As of about two or three weeks ago, I was consistently playing double C’s and higher as part of my daily warm-up, and my playable range was flirting with double G’s (two G’s above the staff). I even hit a triple Bb once (three Bb’s above the staff). It wasn’t loud, but it was there.

Recent Range Deterioration