SF bay area repair shop recommendations for newbie?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by malena, Nov 3, 2015.

1. malena

malena New Friend

Oct 27, 2015
    Hi all! I'm new to this brass thing--my kid is playing in school. (My experience is with strings which are comparatively straightforward.)

I recently picked up a 1950s Holton Collegiate cornet and it has some stuck slides. It seems to have been sitting for a loooooong time but hasn't been abused. After cleaning the dead beetles from the valves, they work nicely but since I can't get the slides out, I can't get it really clean. The kid wants a guarantee that all the beetles are out. It already sounds much much better than the rental that the kid uses so I think it would be worth fixing (up to a certain point, at least).

Can anyone recommend a shop in the SF area (east bay/SJ preferred) that would pull the slides on a student cornet? Our local shop does not fill me with confidence, probably because their rental isn't better than an orphaned instrument full of dead bugs.

Thanks for any advice! :)

2. Clarkvinmazz

Clarkvinmazz Forte User

May 11, 2013
    Oberlin, Ohio
    Sounds like you should also get it professionally cleaned. I'd be a bit concerned if there were ever any bugs in a horn I bought.....

3. ChopsGone

ChopsGone Forte User

Jan 26, 2009
    Northern California
    While there have been some personnel changes (and I haven't been there in a good while, so don't know all the details), the most popular shop for many years has been Best Instrument Repair, 564 14th St, Oakland, CA 94612.