Should I challenge the higher up chairs again?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by litia725, Jan 3, 2012.

1. litia725

litia725 New Friend

Nov 17, 2011
    Florida
    Hi fellow trumpeters! I am a middle school trumpet player in need of an older musician's advice.

I have been playing trumpet for 4, almost 5 years. When I started, my band director and the first chair at the time were amazed at how well I played, and after I got into the advanced band, I earned first chair. I was amazing, even to the high schoolers, and even got in the honors band for the county and placed second chair there. This year, I'm in the wind ensemble, which is brand new in the band program, and when we had chair auditions, everyone knew I would get 1st chair, because of my perfect pitches and how well I interpret the music(I'm not saying this to sound better- fellow band members, older musicians, and my band director have told me this). To my absolute surprise, I got 3rd chair. I was not allowed to challenge 2nd chair until winter, and when I did, for some reason I was utterly panicky and bombed the the challenge. So, I started practicing harder, and getting to pitches and notes the chairs above me cannot even hit, like pedal tones, upper range D's and E's and sometimes F's(keep in mind I'm a middle schooler). AND, for all county this year, I got a chair higher than BOTH the 1st and 2nd chairs. I challenged the 2nd chair again, and my teacher made us sightread something that I've never seen-but the second chair saw already(I was sick the day before and they sightread that in class that day), so I lost by ONE POINT.
    Anyway, my question is, should I keep on challenging her? I mean, I honestly play better than her for many reasons(like in jazz- the only class I still play 1st trumpet in- I got ALL of the trumpet solos), and she knows that. BOTH of the chairs know I'm better than them, and I believe my band director even knows(which makes no sense, so shouldn't he put me up?).