Should I change my embouchure?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mummytuf, Aug 13, 2013.

1. mummytuf

mummytuf New Friend

Aug 8, 2011
    Hi! I first picked up the trumpet about 5 years ago when I was in the 5th grade and I am a incoming 10th grader looking to improve with any help possible. In the beginning of the 7th grade, I had got braces and the transition on the trumpet was terrible. For quite some time I could not play until I got use to the pain which eventually I did. The beginning of 7th grade before I got my braces, the highest note I could hit was a G above staff. Too me, that was quite a accomplishing thing to be able to play. But after I got my braces, the highest note I could hit was C or a Db. I got my braces off about 4-5 months ago and that set me back. This relates to my question because once I started playing again, I believe I might have switched moved my embouchure to the side more then it should be. I am not quite sure but it is a guess. I am going in the 10th and my embouchure is slightly to the left. Doing some research I learned that this is okay but I also heard that this could be limiting my range and tone. Playing anything below a D, my tone is fine but slowly going up by half step, I get an airy sound and my range is very limited. Hitting a G is hard even when I've been working on it for weeks to months. I do a lot of scales, lip slurs but see little to no improvements later in the weeks and following months. I have a show coming up in band and it requires quite some range to hit some of the notes. I was hoping that this would help me some how or maybe I could get some tips or guidance to where I should be going with this. Thanks a lot!

TLDR; Should I change my embouchure if the mouthpiece placement is more on the left size of the lips then it is centered.

**UPDATE**

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gsINKhOM9K0

Last edited: Aug 13, 2013
  2. Cornyandy

Cornyandy Fortissimo User

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire