Should I retire my old '67 Holton Collegiate?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by ButchA, Sep 22, 2013.

1. ButchA

ButchA Pianissimo User

Apr 13, 2009
    Richmond, Virginia
    As you all know, I am a returning player and still have my old 1967 Holton Collegiate, that I've had ever since 4th grade in elementary school. It has been cleaned and overhauled over the years, but it has a lot of mileage on it. Sadly, it has also sat in a closet for a few years and was never played either.

I originally had an old Conn 4 mouthpiece that came with it back in '67 and got rid of it decades ago. I have always played on a Bach 3C (which I love) and also have a newer Schilke 14A4a but it is very bright and can almost peel the paint off the walls!

Anyway, here's some facts:

I am not a pro.
    I am not even a semi-pro.
    I don't play in an orchestra, concert band, jazz band, or anything.
    I enjoy playing common pop songs, basic standard songs out of a music book, etc...etc...
    I recently went through major dental work and now have a full upper denture plate, which after a period of adjustment, I can still play but can't hit the high C (above ledger line) anymore - it will take a little practice and determination.

Long story short, should I look into getting a new trumpet and retire my old 1967 Holton Collegiate? Is there a trumpet in today's market that is perfect for a basic player that can do-it-all, is very common, and considered a workhorse type of trumpet, and most importantly - won't break the bank? What do you think?

Here's some photos of my old '67 Holton Collegiate.
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown