Side of my mouth or center

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Scottyent, Apr 28, 2013.

1. Scottyent

Scottyent New Friend

Feb 28, 2013
    Hey all, I posted a thread a few weeks back about being a "comeback" player and making the changes with my embouchure. Now that I have my horn and I am able to mess around, I have some questions about how I should go forward.

BRIEF background: I played from 3rd grade up till college playing almost entirely out of the side of my mouth (almost touching the end of my mouth). I started college as a music major, where the teacher changed me to dead center embouchure. After a year of solid practicing, I still could not reach anything really above a G just above the staff. I quit being a music major, and didn't play all that much for some years.

So, I have been practicing diligently on my mouthpiece for the last 4 months, and now with my horn for the last few weeks, at my center mouthpiece embouchure. It has been about 2-3 years since I played a lot on it. However, after I would say 4 months of almost everyday practicing, I STILL cannot get above a G just above the staff. I have a difficulty even getting that at all. From middle c and down, I sound great, fat sound, solid tone, exactly how I want to sound.

For fun, today I tried my extremely sideways embouchure from 6 years ago, and I was able to reach a High C. I felt pain in my upper lip (I'm sure because of the fact that my upper teeth stick out a bit on that side), and I have no endurance there (I mean I haven't played on it in 6 years), but I am now wondering how to go forward.

I am meeting with my old trumpet teacher tomorrow, and his method was always....if you are doing this for fun, keep it on the side and have fun playing wherever. If you are doing this professionally, change it. I talked to him on the phone recently, and it seems now that I am no longer a trumpet major and am just looking to play trumpet again, he again says screw it...go back to the side.