Sight reading, dyslexia, and learning the trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Sto Cazzo, Jun 3, 2009.

1. Sto Cazzo

Sto Cazzo New Friend

Jun 2, 2009
    I'm new here, hi everyone.

So I've got my trumpet, I've got my copy of Team Brass, and I've had 3 lessons on the logistics of playing. Things are going nicely, I practice 15 mins a day when I get home from work playing along to records. I've been doing this for about 7 months. However I have a block when it comes to reading, which I think limits my progression.

I'm 29, had piano lessons for four years and a child - still, didn't pick up music reading, classical guitar lessons for 2 years - still didn't pick it up, and I've been drumming for 15 years and dabble in reading, but I've never got to a point when I can sight read. I never think about the fact I was offically 'dyslexic' at school, with extra support and time in exams etc. I'm over that. But perhaps there is a link here.

So I'm looking for thoughts, does anyone here have experience of dyslexia and learning to read music, either personally or with pupils? I'm also considering not bothering as I learn the trumpet, as I intend to play by ear in my experimental/rock bands and for home recording, but are there any tips for methods I can use to learn without reading? The drums have been OK as I just work through rudiments. Are there trumpet rudiments?

Thanks!

Nick

2. marsuleu

marsuleu Piano User

Mar 30, 2009
    Bucharest , Romania
    hello and welcome , Nick !
    I've started reading music for one month when I've decided to have a teacher , who forced me to learn reading... since 2007 when I start playing trumpet, I've never read ... of course, my skills were poor , but I can play a lot of songs without reading... I play guitar and keyboards for more than 15 years ( not a professional player, just a hobby ) and that helped me much ... it should help you too if you have some musical skills ...