Silver Flair

Discussion in 'Vintage Trumpets / Cornets' started by kingflair, Dec 11, 2003.

1. kingflair

kingflair New Friend

Dec 2, 2003
    ottawa
    Is anyone else out there playing an older Silver Flair. I bought a "68" about 6 months ago and love this horn. The valves are super fast and light to the touch and I find it is a very free blowing horn. Not stuffy at all!!
    I love this thing, it's awesome!!

2. sonic

sonic New Friend

Nov 7, 2003
    I bought my Silver Flair new in '71. Unfortunately, it sat in the case from'74 until a year ago. As a comeback player I am again impressed by this light, responsive, open horn. When I started playing again I had thoughts about replacing this horn, but one of the things that I have learned since then is that this baby is not for sale.

3. Tim80

Tim80 New Friend

Nov 24, 2003
    Plant City, Florida
    I've considered picking up a vintage Flair to play while my horn gets refurbished. They seem to be a good value for the money.

4. The Royal Lancer

The Royal Lancer New Friend

Oct 11, 2004
    Detroit, Michigan
    I have in my possession, right now, a King 'Golden Flair'. This is not the UMI Golden Flair, but a KMI Golden Flair as made for the Candoli brothers by King. I understand that this instrument was made to be a Committee type instrument with better intonation and all round playability. I have to say that this is an interesting instrument. There is no engraving on the horn other than the words Golden Fair on the mouthpiece receiver. The valve stems are aluminum and the bottom valve caps are the lightest I have ever felt. None of the hardware on this horn are typical King components. It is the lightest horn I think I have ever played.