Simple beginners breathing exercises?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Saile, Jul 17, 2011.

1. Saile

Saile Piano User

Nov 11, 2010
    Anyone know any simple beginners breathing exercises?

The other thing is, how do you know if your breathing right? I have been playing for a few months but i feel that i am not breathing correctly. I feel a little bit of tension in my lower diaphragm which is the air built up, i just don't think its enough.

2. kingtrumpet

kingtrumpet Utimate User

Sep 20, 2009
    New York State USA
    only take as much air into your lungs as you will need to play the passage (how do you know? it takes practice). I think that is what you mean by having air and tension in the lower diaphragm.
    breathing exercises??? just play man -- just play.
    try not to overthink this air thing -- if you just started playing -- OK the whole trumpet coordination of air,lips, and mind will take a little while -- so don't get frustrated with yourself -- that is my advice -- others will follow with their advice!!!!!!

3. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Rowuk's "Circle of Breath" concept works well, and once you establish where the inhale meets the exhale, start deepening in the inhale (like a bouncing ball) so you get more air.
    You might want to practice breathing with a toilet-paper core in your mouth--it forces your tongue down and opens the airway for some huge breaths! Once you memorize the feeling you can toss it away.

For getting air air out and turning it into sound, I like my "Magic Bubble" system.

All can be searched for here at TM.

4. Conntribution

Conntribution Fortissimo User

Dec 25, 2010
    Lloyd Harbor NY.