Slight cut/abrasions?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by omgruanoob, Nov 25, 2011.

1. omgruanoob

omgruanoob New Friend

Nov 22, 2011
    I play with an upstream embouchure (i believe type 4a?) and I also play in the red of my upper lip. When I play for about 30 minutes or longer, i feel (with my tongue) slight abrasions or cuts, abrasions being a more accurate word. What causes this and what can I do to change this? I just want some thoughts because hopefully soon I will be getting a private teacher. Although he's not a professor or anything he seems knowledgeable enough to help me with my problems and to also help me progress as a trumpet player. Im new to all this so any and all information would be helpful and very much appreciated.
    Thank You

2. Mark_Kindy

Mark_Kindy Mezzo Forte User

Jul 11, 2010
    Gainesville, FL
    If you're using a shallow mouthpiece, your lips may be vibrating against the bottom of the cup, and splitting some. That's happened to me before. You're also potentially using too much mouthpiece pressure

Last edited: Nov 26, 2011
  3. tobylou8

tobylou8 Utimate User

Dec 22, 2008
    Virginia
    What? :-o

4. Mark_Kindy

Jul 11, 2010
    Gainesville, FL
    Sorry, I was attacked by my internet! ROFL

5. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Mark,
    Lips bottoming out on the cup and getting slit open? Man where do you come up with that crap? No way! Do you have any idea how an embouchure works? When you "bottom out" the sound stops - no more vibration - no possible damage.

omgruanoob
    If in fact your lips are damaged after playing, there are only a couple of sources.
    1) too much pressure when playing
    2) stretching the lips to play higher
    3) medical issues - allergy, dehydration
    4) front teeth are chewing away at the lip because they are not "smooth"