Slotting High A's

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Rumpert, Jan 13, 2015.

1. Rumpert

Rumpert New Friend

Jan 12, 2015
    Kansas
    Hey! I am a sophomore in college, and play lead trumpet in our jazz ensemble. Our director passed out a song with a high A (Concert G6) but I cannot seem to slot the note. I hit either a G, Ab, or Bb. What should I practice to work on that? I've tried every alternate fingering but none of it seems to work. Thank you!

2. jiarby

jiarby Fortissimo User

May 7, 2011
    Arizona
    This is common.... you will have to tackle it from a couple angles. Equipment and Chops.

Chops: There are lot of different ways that guys play high notes. Which type are you?? It matters. Advice for one type of player will be a waste of time for another. You need to go see someone that can murder the range between G & DHC. Probably the top call guy in your area.

You are likely to be over blowing. Back off. ALOT. Practice SLOWLY and softly with more control up AND down. Go back to your Clarke book and start doing #4 8va starting on middle C. That goes to a high C. As soft as you can complete the exercise. You want to do the ones between middle C and F (even though they may be in your "comfort zone") because you need to develop the foundation and not HAVE to overblow to make it happen. When you start doing the one that starts on Bb you will finally be on the one that bridges the gap between the G-Ab-A. Again, your enemy is pressure and force. Play them as softly as you can. Up & down chromatic scales.

Other guys work through the problem by playing an A as a really sharp note on the open G partial.. or lipping down a 1st valve Bb. The trick is you REALLY need complete control in this register to be able to bend a Bb up or down on command without "falling off".

Ear training is important... you need to know where the A is. What it sounds like.
    You can do some flow studies (8va Chicowicz & Schlossberg)