Slow progress

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by nomojo, Feb 26, 2008.

1. nomojo

nomojo New Friend

Oct 15, 2007
    Coffs Harbour NSW Oz
    I am a beginner whose progress seems to have stalled. I suspect, from what I have read, that I need to include some breathing exercises as part of my warm-up.

Any advice on this would be appreciated. I have seen the term "circle of breath" mentioned. Is this part of it?

Also, what are pedal notes?

Best regards,

Nomojo

2. Eeviac

Eeviac Piano User

Have faith. I am also a total newb, and had the most awesome practice session today. It just takes putting in the work, try working out stuff on the mouthpiece alone, try playing some songs you *really* like, vary it a little but STAY ON TRACK and you're in good company here.

3. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Nomojo,
    what does your trumpet teacher say?

We are all in agreement that a daily routine makes playing consistent. Improvements come with the things that you do BEYOND the daily routine.

My suggestion is at least an hour a day, 20 minutes breathing, longtones and slurs, 20 minutes tunes and 20 minutes technical work - in that order. Even then, you will reach a plateau that the hour can support, the next step is 2 hours.........................

4. Firestas'1

Firestas'1 Piano User

Dec 21, 2006
    New Jersey
    Pedal notes are the notes below what is considered the normal range of the instrument (below F sharp below the staff). Some teachers recommend playing these as a means of traning the embouchure to relax while still producing a tone. These notes are very difficult to play in tune but with practice they can be played.

You should also incorporate som relaxation techniques into your playing. Tension is the enemy when playing Trumpet, any tension in your upper body will affect your sound in a negative way. Taking deep relaxed breaths will help.