sm 57 mic

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by westhorn, Jan 31, 2008.

1. westhorn

westhorn New Friend

Oct 25, 2007
    Falmouth, Cornwall, UK
    I am just getting into mics and being amplified - ie I do know not much at all about it.

This week I played in a studio with a drummer friend who supplied an sm 57 mic which seemed very manageable. I like it that the horn has to be close to it for it to pick up the sound.

Occasionally I play along with a Samba band who are very loud and if I am not amplified then I won't be audible (except for when I drift into a break:cool:)

I suppose along with mics goes the question of mixers and amps if anyone has any views on those too.

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    We used the SM57 for our funk horn section in the 70's. I don't think they are state of the art anymore, but they are "vintage" and durable. I'm curious too, what folks are using now.

3. ccNochops

ccNochops Piano User

Sep 30, 2006
    White Marsh, VA
    "We used the SM57 for our funk horn section in the 70's. I don't think they are state of the art anymore, but they are "vintage" and durable."......ouch. I'm using a SM57 in the current funk band, I know I'm not "state of the art" anymore, wife says I'm vintage, and the knees.......well so much for the durable. I do need to be up on the mic when I play, but not too sure the mix is helping me much either.......chuck:cool:

4. ChromeDome

ChromeDome New Friend

Jul 23, 2005
    Wetaskiwin, Alta, Canada