Small Bore = higher notes

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by mlhend2002, Jan 2, 2009.

1. mlhend2002

mlhend2002 New Friend

Dec 30, 2008
    Salisbury, NC
    I have been playing trumpet since 1973 and have a question. I have heard that smaller bore trumpets make it easier to play higher notes, but at what point or bore size does this rule not hold true. Also, I would think the sound would get thin and the low notes would greatly suffer. I currently play with a .462 and a .459 bore and thought of moving to a .455 or smaller bore. I have noticed my lip get's worn out sooner playing on my smaller bore than on the larger bore. Are there trumpets that are small bore than are more free blowing and I would not tire as fast? I currently play with a GR Chuck mancuso 65.5S Mouthpiece which I absolutely Love and recommend for high/low notes and a Big sound.

2. MFfan

MFfan Fortissimo User

Sep 13, 2006
    Kalamazoo, Michigan
    My small bore Czech horn (probably 438) does have more resistance than my others (.459 or so) and does make the higher notes more secure for me and they are quite penetrating. However, it can also play pretty mellow with gentler blowing in the lower registers. It has a smaller -than-current reciever size, so a regular mp doesn't fit in very far, but is sill usable by adjusting the tuning slide. I have recently tried an deeper v
    cornet mp, which fits all the way to the cup. I really like the change to a mellower tone quality it plays with good quality in the lower register.
    A friends' Conn 2B is a small bore, but plays easily and has a great tone. I am not familiar with any current ones. I guess when you get tired also depends on you constituion along with the horn's characteristics.

3. mlhend2002

mlhend2002 New Friend

Dec 30, 2008
    Salisbury, NC
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2009
  4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany