Smoking trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Catfish, May 4, 2008.

1. Catfish

Catfish New Friend

May 4, 2008
    Brisbane Australia
    Hello everyone. I tried to find a more appropriate area for my question but there didn't seem to be one so I guess this is the right place.

I have been playing Trumpet for 2 years now and I have recently given up smoking.

Trouble is my trumpet stinks of cigarette smoke and it is driving me up the wall :bash:. I have already pulled the poor fellow apart and given it a bath, but I can still taste nicotine (it seems to be more noticeable in the bore).

Has anyone else been through this and does anyone have any suggestions.

2. screamingmorris

screamingmorris Mezzo Forte User

Apr 4, 2007
    The bath could include vinegar or baking soda or a tablespoon of Lysol liquid concentrate.
    Or I would think that pouring full-strength ammonia down the tubing and then proceeding with a scrub with the tube brush followed by a regular soap bath and rinse should do the trick, since ammonia will dissolve stuff like built-up wax.
    Or (*my favorite*) you could spray a large amount of WD-40 down the tubing, since WD-40 will dissolve deposits while also lubricating and water-proofiing the inside of the tubing against red rot.

If such at-home remedies don't work because the nicotine film inside the trumpet won't dissolve, any repair shop could give it one of those typical chemical baths that remove deposits from inside trumpets.

Edit:
    I forgot to add a warning.
    Some players have accidently removed the lacquer from their trumpets by using water that is too warm / too hot, or by allowing their trumpets to soak in warm water over-night.
    I think that usually is just a problem with vintage trumpets that use the older type of lacquer, but it might also happen to some newer trumpets?

- Morris

Last edited: May 4, 2008
  3. Catfish

Catfish New Friend

May 4, 2008
    Brisbane Australia