Software

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by AutoDisaster, Feb 9, 2009.

1. AutoDisaster

AutoDisaster New Friend

Feb 9, 2009
    Hello peoples

I'm just starting to learn trumpet playing and was wondering whether there are any (hopefully free...) computer programs that could help with learning. I was hoping for something that would provide feedback about pitch accuracy to help learn this. I'm pretty sure there's no TrumpetStar playstation game, but maybe something else that could help?

I would appreciate anybody's suggestions?

Alex

2. gglassmeyer

gglassmeyer Piano User

Apr 28, 2006
    Cincinnati, OH
    really the best approach is to find a teacher. Software can catch issue with pitch etc. but can't correct possible problems with your breathing , articulation, or embouchure.

STANDARD OF EXCELLENCE -ENHANCED VERSION W/CD - TRUMPET- LESSON BOOK 1 - Trumpet Lesson Book

the "Standard of Excellence" book is used by many schools and it comes with a CD package called iPas. Install it on the computer and it has a metronome, tuner and for selected exercises, it will check your pitch and your note attack, duration and release against what should have been played.

maybe this will be helpful.

3. simonstl

simonstl Pianissimo User

Nov 25, 2008
    Dryden/Ithaca, NY
  4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    find a duet buddy. It's free and will do wonders for your playing. Forget about isolating yourself with a computer - Music is a group sport where 1+1 can be much greater than 2!

5. SteveB

SteveB Mezzo Piano User

Nov 15, 2008
    Prescott Valley, AZ
    Greatest advice ever, Robin. :thumbsup: :thumbsup:

6. GoodMusic@PA

[email protected] Piano User

Aug 7, 2008