Something i just can't figure out

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by garface, Nov 14, 2010.

1. garface

garface New Friend

Mar 7, 2010
    I've been playing for many years as a lead jazz big band player and am very acquainted with trumpet stuff, but i ran into something i just can't figure out.
    Ive been playing on a $2000 getzen 900S eterna classic for about 2 years now. but summer of 2010 i picked up a new used horn for $200 that is in considerably worse shape (the valves are pretty crappy and it's an intermediate level jupiter) than my expensive horn. lately, as in almost always, i have been playing the jupiter, and have been playing to the fullest extent of my skill. but now, when i play my getzen, I get burnt out within half an hour of moderate practice, much easier practice than i would with my other horn, and cannot reach the top area of my range. that's my problem; i perform worse with my better horn, and better with my lower-quality horn.
    can anyone explain what could be the problem?
    thanks in advance.

also, if im performing better with the jupiter, the logical thing is to use it more. the only issue is the valves are super sticky. with many cleanings and oilings and wiping the oil and re oiling, the y still stick. any suggestions? should i get em acid bathed?

Last edited: Nov 14, 2010
  2. Alex_C

Alex_C Piano User

May 30, 2010
    Gilroy, California
    I betzen the getzen has a larger bore.

3. garface

garface New Friend

Mar 7, 2010
    it does. its a lot bigger. i thought of that too but it doesnt make sense how much it changes things

4. Dark Knight

Dark Knight Pianissimo User

Apr 7, 2010
    Canada
    OK. Look at it this way. The difference between mouthpices can be less than 0.5 mm. with respect to any of the important dimensions yet there is only one that is perfect for you. Bore size makes a huge difference. It's not my opinion; it just physics.

DK

5. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV