something in my horn? or just begginner mistakes?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by urban1ninja, Jan 25, 2009.

1. urban1ninja

urban1ninja New Friend

Jan 22, 2009
    Maryland
    hey so whenever i play it sounds like im not getting a FULL sound, like there might be something blocking the airflow but it just might also be because im very new to playing trumpet. What do you guys think?

2. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User

New to playing trumpet
    To get the full sound takes practice, and a lot of it, just get used to playing and strive for getting as full a sound as possible at all times

3. urban1ninja

urban1ninja New Friend

Jan 22, 2009
    Maryland
    lol ok i bought my trumpet used so i though it was my horn.

4. lovevixen555

lovevixen555 Banned

Nov 5, 2008
    Michigan
    Have another more experinced player or your band teacher check it out. You could have miss alinged valves or something inthe the way of the air collum. I know one guy that found a dead mouse in his Euphonium once so anything is possable. My 7 year old has no problem getting the full sound out of any trumpet his has played from a student model from the 1980's or a student model from 1946. I am not saying he his always in tune but he is never stuffy even with his practice mute in he is not stuff. SO if the trumpet is sounding or feeling stuffy I suspect their is a problem. Most student models are easy to blow most have bore's of .450-.460 and most have some very large leadpipes with moderate taper. So have someone else play it before you assume it is you. In fact the first time my son put a trumpet to his lips he played it at an extremly loud level for quite a long sustained note and that was on a rental trumpet made in China.

edcon1981 likes this.
  5. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany