Sophmore Trumpeter in HS in Reading PA needs advise and help!

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by marsalismyboy930, Jan 31, 2009.

1. marsalismyboy930

marsalismyboy930 New Friend

Jan 31, 2009
    West Lawn, PA
    I am new to this fourm and hope to get help out of it from all you guys! I am currently in my high schools Symphonic and Jazz bands. In Jr. High i was playing truely magnificently, i was lead trumpet,had many solos, and i felt a future in music was something i really wanted to do. However comeing to High School was another world for me. I am last chair in both bands, My practise routine has never been a huge role in my life but i have now come to realize that it is time to buckle down and work for the future i want. Some things i would like help on are information of local jazz combos or groups and also symphonic bands that accept High School students through aduition and such. Another things is private help, my band director, David Cooper(anyone know of him) is an amazing trumpet player that has made a bit of a name for himself around the philadelphia area, however my personality has always been timid and shy, and his precence often intimidates me. He is a wonderful teacher and i know he could help me greatly,so should i just man up and try to reach out for the help? Also i have been fortuneate enough to have a connection to Kevin Kjos, Kutztown Universty's Jazz director, and also a great player,through my jr. high band director, should i try and talk to him about private lessons?is anyone familiar with his teaching and price range?
    i have many more questions so those of you who wish to help id love to be in contact, thanks for visiting and the support!
    Joe

2. willbarber

willbarber Piano User

Nov 22, 2008
    Medina, NY
    If you can get private lessons, go for it.

Ever think about joining the Buccaneers? They practice on our Astroturf every year before World championships in Rochester. They're a quality corps.