Speedy Repairs

Discussion in 'Trumpet Repair and Modification' started by SmallBlueThing93, Aug 4, 2010.

1. SmallBlueThing93

SmallBlueThing93 New Friend

Jul 27, 2010
    I have a lovely little Schilke that I've been playing for three years now--through high school. I'm now a senior and section leader but when I pulled out my trumpet this summer to practice a little I found a giant dent in the front of the removable bell. It's most likely it was dented somehow when I left it on the chairs during graduation in the spring. My dad, being the trumpet-geek he is, attempted to fix it himself but instead managed to dent it further. I need to have it fixed before school starts (around labor day), but I'm wondering if I should have it sent downstate for repairs using our local musical shop chain or if I shoul pay more money to send it to Schilke. Is there a significant difference in results? And how long do these repairs normally take? I was thinking of getting it cleaned in the process as well seeing as I've only bathed and snaked it twice a year since I got it.

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    If you send it to Schilke it would probably take longer. I think I would call the shop and ask if they could do what you want and have it back in time for school to start.

3. Bob Grier

Bob Grier Forte User

May 4, 2007
    Greensboro, NC
    Why don't you call Schilke and ask them! They may be able to turn it arond quickly.

4. ComeBackKid

ComeBackKid Fortissimo User

May 11, 2009
    Yorba Linda, CA