starting to feel bad...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by trumpet 101, Nov 2, 2009.

1. trumpet 101

trumpet 101 Pianissimo User

Jan 8, 2009
    Arkansas
    hello,

im a freshman in high school and i cant play above an a above the stave with out having a brittle sound and all the other freshman can easily get out a C above the stave.... i practice like im supposed to, i actually practice more than the others, i just started taking lessons from a pirvate teacher and outside of an hour lesson a practice atleast two hours everyday now. i do practice the Arbans book, but how can i increase my range? (i do know range isnt everything, but it does help having range)

thanks,
    Blake

2. SpiritDCI08

SpiritDCI08 Piano User

Feb 11, 2009
    Fort Campbell, KY
    Range will come in time, so don't worry about it. Some people will develop slower than others, it's normal so just deal with it. Practice 6 days a week, taking 1 as a break. Lip slurs, Articulations, Long tones, method books, free play and then more fundamentals. Practice practice practice. When something becomes too easy then move on, no use practicing something easy when there are hard things to practice.

Enjoy

3. BergeronWannabe

BergeronWannabe Piano User

Feb 6, 2007
    Colin's Lip Flexibilities really helped me out.
    Good luck,
    -Andrew

4. Markie

Markie Forte User

Jan 4, 2009
    Clarksburg, WV
    I suggest doing lip slurs using all valve combinations.
    Start as low as you can and go as high as you can and then, come back down. Always play with a good sound and slur smoothly. It will be REALLY HARD when you first start and it will wear your butt out, but if you stick with it your abilities will increase.
    Here are all 7 combinations

5. trumpet 101

trumpet 101 Pianissimo User

Jan 8, 2009
    Arkansas
    thanks! and ill do lip slurs more, i do practice them, but ill start doing them more

6. bagmangood

bagmangood Forte User