Starting trumpet/cornet could use some advice

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Stawberry, Jul 19, 2009.

1. Stawberry

Stawberry New Friend

Jul 19, 2009
    Hi all,

I'm a jazz student in Belgium, playing electric and double bass and recently got the urge to learn the trumpet/cornet (I'm leaning more towards cornet). But ofcourse I've got some questions.

First of all whats the difference (except for sound ofcourse) between a trumpet and a cornet?
    Does silver and gold laquered instruments differ in sound, because I quite like silver look.
    Do trumpet types/brands change the sound significally?
    If so I would like to have the Miles Davis trumpet sound he had in Miles Davis and the Modern Jazz Giants or early jazz sound with a cornet.
    Then what should I buy? I've got about 600-900 euros to spend and I'll probably order from Thomann.
    Ive been looking at this for trumpet: JUPITER JP-702 RL-F BB-TROMPETE - Belgium International Cyberstore or YAMAHA YTR-2335 S TROMPETE - Belgium International Cyberstore. And this for cornet YAMAHA YCR-2330 SII BB-KORNETT - Belgium International Cyberstore there is also a "longer model" YAMAHA YCR-2310 SII BB-KORNETT - Belgium International Cyberstore whats the difference between these two?

Sorry for all the questions and thanks in advance for your replies.

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Stawberry,
    welcome to TM,
    Unlike electric instruments where you can "duplicate" sounds by buying the same equipment, brass instruments have human "lips" as the sound generator. They are as individual as fingerprints - so your sound will be too! The instrument will not be able to "duplicate" another players sound.

For the first 4 or 5 years of playing, silver and laquer are only cosmetic. After that, there is only a small but for some players, important difference.

A cornet is a member of the horn family. It sounds softer and not as agressive. For some it is easier to play.