Steady, resonant Sound

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Tomek, Jun 11, 2007.

1. Tomek

Tomek New Friend

Jun 11, 2007
    Poland
    Dear Mr. Hooten

I am a new member here, so I would like to say everybody hello!

I have a question to concern good sound through whole trumpet range. I am a trumpet student. I try to play open, centered, not forced but fat sound and I can make it but....only in the low and middle register. I can not keep the same resonance when I play in upper register. When I play above g on the top of the staff , my sound becomes thin. I also start feeling mouthpiece pressure and my lips stop vibrating as freely as in the middle register. I hear a lot of grat trumpeters and all of them play with fullness of ton, especially in the upper and high register.

How should I work on it?

Thank you for any help and sorry for my english:-)

2. BADBOY-DON

BADBOY-DON Piano User

Jan 23, 2004
    Gig Harbor Wa.
    Take every opportunity to build a relationship with successful trumpeters that live and perform around 'neck of the woods!" Go to school on them..but remember that many really gifted trumpeters CAN OFTEN NOT BE THE BEST when it come to teaching and instructing....or building the confidence needed to reach realistic goals.
    Often it takes A GREAT DEAL OF TIME AND EFFORT to find a really good trumpet instructor in your area.

It sounds to me...that NOW IS THE TIME for you to link up ONE ON ONE..WITH A RECOMMENDED TRUMPET TEACHER that can help you JUMP THAT LEARNING GAP.
    Truly amazing just how much this could help you become a better and more confident trumpeter. Not only can they zero in on what may be road blocks....but also can inspire you to reach for new goals and spark your love and passion for playing trumpet music on the road to becoming all that you can be.

Last edited: Jun 12, 2007
  3. thomashooten

thomashooten Pianissimo User

Feb 21, 2005
    Atlanta
    Hi,