Steps to better trumpet playing.

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by kctrumpeteer, Jan 12, 2010.

1. kctrumpeteer

kctrumpeteer Piano User

Dec 23, 2009
    I recently got back into playing trumpet I have been taking lessons once a week and they are great, but wondering what others might do for getting better. I found some great stuff on the Internet including the youtube (you can find elsewhere) where the 215th Army Band has 10 videos which seem very professionally done and very good information. But the reality is that I don't think they take me any further than I already am which is really a beginner status.

With my music instructor that I take private lessons from he has been working on some things from Irons as well as a few short songs to work on. A friend of mine seemed to think lessons are unnecessary unless you are a total beginner, but wondering what most people do to continually get better outside of or including taking lessons?

Are there other resources out there that anyone would suggest? I even saw where a guy would give private lessons via web cam, but at that point I don't see why I would do that versus just like I am now taking private lessons in person.... other than this guy was a professional trumpet player.

Thanks...

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    We never stop learning. I have been playing for more years than some folks are old. I still study with private teachers. One is the principal trumpet with the symphony and the other is the trumpet professor at the university. Private lessons are an integral part of us constantly seeking to improve. Yes, I also do a lot of reading and have a rather extensive library of trumpet music, method books, as well as books on trumpet playing. If you really want to improve and continue to improve the second set of ears and eyes that you get from a private teacher of real importance.

3. gbdeamer

gbdeamer Forte User

Oct 16, 2008
    Play. Play a lot.