Stuck on G above the staff and mouthpiece

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by trompi, Aug 22, 2005.

1. trompi

trompi New Friend

Aug 20, 2005
    SP
    Hi all,

I'm a self-tought trumpeter (I'm over 30). I've been learning to play almost for a year using common methods and good web information.

At present time I can reach a solid G over staff but notes over that G sounds forced and weak (I can reach up to E in the third additional line).

My range has grown quickly in my first year playing but I've been stuck on G since three months.

I play a Bach 7C mouthpiece. I know I've to practica a lot to enhance my range but I want to know if it's time to change my mouthpiece. Any hint?.

THANKS A LOT! :-)

2. trumpet blower88

trumpet blower88 Mezzo Piano User

Jun 15, 2005
    Flagstaff, AZ
    Now, I'm just a student, so I don't know if I would listen to me if I were you, but in my experiance you should probbably think about a 3C, or maybe even a 1 1/2 C. Most students switch to a 3C during their freshman/sophmore year of highschool, and that is with about 3 or 4 years of playing. Even though you've only played for a year, your range seems to be about the same as a student whos been playing for a few years (if not better). I took it by small steps, I started on a 7C, after a couple years whent to a 5C, a couple more years passed and I went to a 3C, a couple more years passed and I moved to a 1 1/2C, and now my senior year I'm playing on a 1C.