Stupid question

Discussion in 'Horns' started by musicalmason, Mar 3, 2004.

1. musicalmason

musicalmason Forte User

Dec 14, 2003
    Pa
    Ok, I play a bach strad 180 37. I know of other people who have bach student horns TR200's and 300's. Now I am not a beginner, I have played their horns and mine. I feel the difference, I hear the difference in intonation and sound. I know that they are different. But heres the stupid question what exactly is physically different from the strad to the student models? They look similar but I know that means nothing, I was just wandering where the physical difference is that makes the strad so much better than the student. Thanks.

2. trpguyy

trpguyy Piano User

Nov 26, 2003
    Others can answer more thuroughly, but I believe the materials and the overall quality are worlds apart. Plus there are lots of little things on the Strad that aren't on the student modles (i.e. different mouthpiece receiver, fixed ring, bracing, stop rods, etc.)

3. Ash

Ash Pianissimo User

Jan 18, 2004
    As with (most) profesional horns, they have a one-piece bell, probably the biggest single difference.

4. mheffernen5

mheffernen5 Pianissimo User

In my opinion, some differents between your beginner trumpet vs. an intermediate or a pro trumpet are: fixed 3rd slide ring, silver plating, and a much better sound.

5. dHoff

dHoff Pianissimo User

Feb 13, 2004
    Woodstock, NY
    I was once told that the stupid question is the one you don't ask. Keep asking!

I expect that an instrument builder will chime in eventually and speak about things like hand finishing and resultant quality assurance and probably there's something in the materials themselves. Perhaps we can get a guy like Leah or Jack Kanstul who seem to breathe this stuff to chime in.

I would imagine that even Leah could make less out of a good intermediate horn thatn out of a good pro instrument. I hope we get to hear why.

6. Tootsall

Tootsall Fortissimo User

Oct 25, 2003