Switching Instruments.......

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Trumpetmasta, Jun 1, 2012.

1. Trumpetmasta

Trumpetmasta Pianissimo User

Mar 31, 2012
    Narnia
    Well after playing trumpet for 7 years now, and playing french horn for about a month, my high school band director wants me to be full time on french horn. Well a few problems...
    1) I played french horn with my braces ON...my embouchure is garbage
    2) I self taught so I know basically nothing about it...
    3) I started off on my mom's professional horn and it is tough to play on as it is
    4) I only played something that was easy enough that I could do without a teacher, and seeing as how my band sight reads grade 6 music I was counting on playing on something I have more experience on

sooo yeah I have my whole summer (literally I just got off school yesterday) but I am still freaking out... any tips?????????????:shhh::roll::dontknow::-?:shock::think::bash:

HELLLLLLLPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

2. Vulgano Brother

Vulgano Brother Moderator Staff Member

Mar 23, 2006
    Parts Unknown
    Get a copy of The Art of French Horn Playing by Philip Farkas. Full of good stuff and lots applies to trumpet players as well. Gunther Schuller also wrote a book on playing the French horn, Horn Technique.

Have fun!

3. Jappe

Jappe Pianissimo User

Jul 3, 2011
    Antwerp, Belgium
    I don't believe that it is good for your mental health as a trumpetplayer to change to french horn. LOL My guess is that you end up trying to straighten the bell forward and shuffle the valves to your other hand. Anyway, you don't see too much trumpeteers with their hands INSIDE the bell ROFL

4. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany