Switching to C trumpet

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by snazzypadgett, Aug 25, 2010.

1. snazzypadgett

snazzypadgett New Friend

Oct 13, 2009
    Hello TM, I've posted here a few times in the past--I've got a new question.

I've been playing trumpet for about 8 months now, and am really enjoying it, playing in a concert band and still taking lessons with the university trumpet professor.

The thing is, I've got absolute pitch and I've had to learn to transpose the written music literally to match the fingerings I've taught myself (open is not "C" to me, it's Bb). This has in turn made me a great ear player as well as reader--as long as it's in concert pitch. I realized today how well I could read when I was reading some tougher tunes out of a friend's Real Book, and it frustrated me that I couldn't even come close to reading that well had I needed to transpose like I'm used to. The connection is just blocked by the transposition.

So I'm really considering a C trumpet now. Here are the issues I have:
    -Finding a good C trumpet, in a budget price range (used) is not as easy as finding my Bb Olds Ambassador was
    -I'll have to relearn all of the fingerings anyway upon getting the C trumpet. I do think, however, that this will be much much easier than trying to convince myself that a Bb sound is an "Ab" etc.
    -How different is the tone? I don't want a tinny sounding thing! I love playing in the darker register (it's also easier for a beginner :)), and other than the missing concert E and F, I wonder if I'll dislike the brighter sound for jazz. Opinions?

Thanks everyone!

2. rowuk

rowuk Moderator Staff Member

Jun 18, 2006
    Germany
    Absolute pitch has NOTHING to do with it. We can train ourselves for all sorts of stuff if we do not hide behind what we think is the problem. I have worked with enough "absolute pitch" players to know that it is merely a matter of willpower.