Swollen Lips...Endurance...Advice

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by F.E.Olds, Aug 28, 2010.

1. F.E.Olds

F.E.Olds Pianissimo User

Aug 28, 2010
    Hello- I am new around here. I have been playing the trumpet for several years now. In the past year, I have been working quite hard to work on building the quality of my playing. I am in high school. This year, for marching band, first trumpet was thrown upon me. I have slowly been trying to build up my endurance going from 7C mouthpiece to 3C and trying to stay with 3C. Marching band camp has come and I had used the 3C the first day and became sort of burnt out. Since I stared on the 3C at the beginning of the year my endurance has been terrible. So for the second day of band camp, I decided to use the 7C. The second day went great. I didn't miss a note. It's not that I can't hit these higher notes, it that I can't keep myself up there for very long. The last two days I went with the 7C and could not even do a whole concert Bb scale without an issue. Now, two days later my lips are starting to come back but they are swelling up very quickly. I know that slowly working up my endurance with some exercises I have is what will be able to do it. Sorry to make this so long but any advice?

Thanks

Patrick

2. oldlou

oldlou Forte User

Aug 28, 2005
    Grand Rapids, Mi.
    It sounds to me like you are overdoing things. A series of very low, very soft, extremely long tones for a big part of your practice will help to heal and strengthen your lips, if you pay very close attention to TOTALLY CONTROLLING the intonation and volume.

OLDLOU>>

3. F.E.Olds

F.E.Olds Pianissimo User

Aug 28, 2010
    Ok. I'll give that a try. I guess I need to try to figure out what mouthpiece to stick with now.

4. F.E.Olds

F.E.Olds Pianissimo User

Aug 28, 2010