Teacher in the Seattle/Tacoma, WA area?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Zalu617, Mar 24, 2010.

1. Zalu617

Zalu617 New Friend

Jul 28, 2009
    Puyallup, WA
    Hey all, long time no post!
    Anyways I've been looking around for a teacher and haven't had much luck. I've asked my band director, but that teacher is all booked up. And I've gotten a couple replies from Craigslist ads, but they seem to be just getting into giving lessons. In short, here's what I'm looking for:

- Near Seattle/Tacoma (I'm in Orting, so hopefully nothing too far)
    - Experienced.

Thanks for all replies in advance. If no actual contacts, can anyone tell me what else I could do to find one?

2. Seaaggie

Seaaggie New Friend

May 3, 2010
    Seattle, WA
    I am new to the Seattle area and looking for a private lesson teacher as well. I have recently picked the trumpet back up. I haven't played in over 10 yrs. Still have a decent sound but need to get back into shape.

Last edited: May 24, 2010
  3. guyclark

guyclark Piano User

Feb 28, 2008
    Los Gatos, CA
    HI, Guys!

You might talk to other trumpet players in your area. They of all people should know who's around the area and who's good, and for what.

You probably wouldn't want to take lessons from a symphony player if what you need is lessons on jazz improvization. Then, you wouldn't necessarily want a jazzer if you want to work on your symphony chops. Of course, there are people who cross the lines and are just overall good musicians, but they're fewer and farther between.

It also helps if you find a teacher who experienced (and overcame) problems such as you are experiencing.

Check out your local community colleges for playing opportunities. Here in the SF Bay area are many different community colleges bands. I, myself, play in three of them! Here, you'd get playing experience, as well as attention from your section mates. They could also help in finding local teachers who would be the best for your issues.