Teacher or no

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Terrizzi, Oct 31, 2010.

1. Terrizzi

Terrizzi New Friend

Oct 18, 2010
    Jacksonville FL
    I am a comeback player, I have not played for the past 18 years and have played almost everyday for 2.5 months now. I am really enjoying it and am wanting to teach my children. I am of course somewhat disappointed that I cannot play like Andre or Marsalis yet. Does it really take about 2 years of practice to be pleasing to the ears?

Does anyone teach classical trumpet in Jacksonville FL? I want someone who can play Arbans flawlessly if I do get a teacher. I am a business owner and serious about family, but really want to be good at this. I am teachable.

Adjunct question #1: Are there any self help videos that have helped you tremendously, especially with range and embouchure developement?

Question #2 Can you teach a 6 year old to play? My son cannot play above low D on the cornet right now. In your opinion, can a 6 year old play the trumpet? I don't want to push him, but this is great for teaching a child more than just trumpet.

2. s.coomer

s.coomer Forte User

Mar 25, 2005
    Indianapolis, In
    Welcome to TM, enjoy your stay. As far as teachers in your area are concerned contact the nearest college to you and then find out who the trumpet teacher is. Contact the teacher and see if the teacher will take you as a private student. If not possibly they can recommend someone in the area or a graduate student of theirs. As far as a six year old learning to play I have had some experience teaching them and if it is a really serious kid with the right setting it is possible to teach them to play. You may want to think about a cornet for them as the size is a little more manageable at that age.

3. Phil986

Phil986 Forte User

Nov 16, 2009
    Near Portland, OR.
    I hear you bro...
    Just kidding. Better get used to that disappointment, it's not going away any time soon.