Teachers

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Joe44, Nov 20, 2011.

1. Joe44

Joe44 Pianissimo User

Apr 21, 2011
    Upstate Ny
    I was wondering if I should get a regular teacher for the trumpet. I have been plagued by band directers that know very little about trumpets or other brass instruments. Our weekly leason material is basicly just reviewing band music. Is it worth the money for a reguar teacher or shouls I just get a few lessons every once in a while? I am a freshman in high school.

2. MSfortissimo

MSfortissimo Pianissimo User

Jul 13, 2011
    SF Bay Area
    It is very worth it if you find the right teacher.

3. Joe44

Joe44 Pianissimo User

Apr 21, 2011
    Upstate Ny
    How do I find "a right"teacher?

4. songbook

songbook Piano User

Apr 25, 2010
    Your local college or university might be of help to you. Good luck!

5. Joe44

Joe44 Pianissimo User

Apr 21, 2011
    Upstate Ny
    Good idea! I somewhat by cornell

6. Mark_Kindy

Mark_Kindy Mezzo Forte User

Jul 11, 2010
    Gainesville, FL
    Any teacher that teaches at a college is a great investment. Then you really have an idea of what mature musicians are looking for. If you're feeling a little cheaper, you can always find a graduate student to help you instead. They're usually capable, if not as experienced.

7. chenzo

chenzo Piano User

Jul 18, 2008
    Aust
    Would it not indeed depend on how serious you are about the trumpet or cornet, more to the point how much do you enjoy playing the horn, and yes get a teacher if serious
    Another option for you maybe is to join a local Brass band where I am sure you would be given great guidance nothing beats playing in a brass only band with fellow members with similar interests.
    It might not be your first love but the experiences gain will hold you in good steed for future endeavors.