Teaching my daughter......

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by shooter, Mar 3, 2012.

1. shooter

shooter Piano User

Jan 12, 2007
    VA
    I started teaching my daughter(11) trumpet this week. I want to sort of keep a journal (so to speak) of her progression as a student, and my progression as a teacher. Being as this is my first attempt, I would appreciate you guys looking in every so often and giving me guidance. I've got her playing a 10-1/2C and a 7C for a week or so and then letting her pick the most comfortable one. The horn is an Olds Special so hopefully, she'll get a lot of years with it. It's day three now and she's using low C as her base note and working from there. We will work up to the A (whole, not chromatic yet), and then work down from C to the G (whole, not chromatic). I'm stressing tone over range, pronouncing "TU", keeping her corners tight, relaxing from shoulders down, using full breath support, and hearing the note before she plays it. I also need to teach her how to read music. She plans on being in the band next school year.
    Thanks in advance for any pointers and tips!!

Last edited: Mar 3, 2012
    NotCody likes this.
  2. larry tscharner

larry tscharner Forte User

Apr 30, 2010
    dubuque iowa
    Dont forget the fun. And plenty of it. Best wishes.

3. bach37

bach37 Pianissimo User

Dec 1, 2011