Technique?

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Bad Luck Lux, Oct 28, 2011.

1. Bad Luck Lux

Bad Luck Lux New Friend

Jun 16, 2010
    Tucson, Az.
    Hello,
    I have been playing Trumpet for 7 years now. I've never had any private lessons and I pretty much taught myself how to play trumpet. I believe I am a really decent player for high school level, however I wanna' detach from only being a "student player" and dive into the Professional zone. For the past year I've been playing alongside high-level musicians that astound me everytime I hear them play. I've recognized that I am definetely one of the weaker players in the group and I wish to improve my technique to come to par with these people. In order to do so, I really need to imporve my technique. Does anyone have any reccomendations on how to improve the following:
    Range
    Intonation
    Articulation
    Flexibility
    Lip Trill (Frequent in Jazz)
    Tone
    (etc.)

I'd really appreciate some feedback.

Much Regards,

2. edfitzvb

edfitzvb Forte User

Jun 10, 2008
    Woodlawn, VA
    Usually I let somebody else answer these types of questions, but I guess it's my turn at bat.

There are no shortcuts.

It takes hours and hours and hours of repetition to teach muscle memory and build strength, endurance, range, and all of the specialized skills that go into being a trumpet player.

That being said....
    1. Get a teacher (if at all possible..... even a person who teaches online is better than none, but a one-on-one inperson teacher is best.)

2.) Acquaint yourself with the literature for building and training.
    A. I can recommend Arban's Complete Conservatory Method, because pretty much EVERY trumpet player has or is working through that. There is enough for years of work if you do them correctly.
    B. Colin's Lip Flexibility Studies is another work that I can recommend
    3.) Play lots of long tones