Teeth, Jaws and Mouthpieces...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by BernArt, Jan 20, 2015.

1. BernArt

BernArt Pianissimo User

Dec 31, 2013
    Merida, Mexico
    Hello

I have been playing for eight years and of course I need to keep myself practicing everyday and keeping mind and ears always open and fully sensitive in order to learn improve and find the "golden and perfect sound" I expect one day to bring out of my trumpet, as most student trumpeters would expect. But... What happens when the shape of your face, your jaws and low level teeth do not allow you to play and hold the trumpet in a 90 degrees angle with your body? I mean, playing with the bell of the trumpet right in front your mouth... So, the angle between my trumpet and my body is something a bit closer to the angle an oboe player gets for example. My upper teeth and my lower teeth do not allow the mouthpiece and the trumpet to be holded in a straight and 90 degrees angle with my body, no matter register, key, trumpet shape ( same issue happens while playing the Bb cornet and the flugelhorn but this issue is more evident when I play trumpet. It is even more obvious when playing a long herald trumpet . Does it make any sense? Should I try to totally change my embouchure? I don't think I have major problems with my current trumpet position but I think that maybe I loose projection for not being able to up enough my trumpet bell. I will appreciate any comment about it. Thank you in advance.
    BernArt

2. Cornyandy

Cornyandy Fortissimo User

Jan 9, 2010
    East Yorkshire