THE HOLY GRAIL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(kinda long-sorry!)

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by guitarsrmine, Dec 10, 2010.

1. guitarsrmine

guitarsrmine Piano User

Dec 29, 2008
    Franklin, Pa
    Hello everyone. Just a brief history about myself. PLayed trumpet in my youth until age 21, then gave it up to "be a rock star" (yeah,right!!)After a 27 year hiatus from trumpet playing, Bought a new trumpet 2 years ago,realizing what I had given up so many years ago. Ive been practicing daily, and also playing at church, and working in 1 number with my classic rock band. Well, as I practised the other day, I was feeling better as the practice went on. After doing my pedal tones, lip slurs, flow studies,long tones,sotto voce(Thanks Nick Drozdoff!) etc.,I started playing scales, moving up the register,to see how my range was getting, and low and behold, I HIT DOUBLE HIGH C !!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It wasnt Maynard quality, and it was no squeek, but I hit it,and held it for about 5 seconds, and voila-no exsessive MP pressure, didnt feel like my brain was hemmoraging,and was actually feeling good(my chops)and continued to practice for another 15 minutes(to round out my hour) I just want to say a big THANK YOU to all of the players on here who have given their valuable advice!! It has helped me in SO many ways!! I dont think the progress Ive made would have been possible without the valued advice from everyone on here(since there arent any trumpet teachers in my area) If you were all here, I'd take you out and buy you a beer! THANKS AGAIN!!!!:thumbsup: P.S. Just to let you know, after hitting the double high C, I played the scale all the way down to low F#,and NO problems reaching it like in the past!

2. Asher S

Asher S Pianissimo User

Sep 20, 2009
    Suburban Boston
    Congrats, I guess... for some people hitting double C really is the "holy grail". For others, not so much. To each his/her own.