The lip buzz (looking for guidance)

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Zack Pomerleau, Dec 19, 2014.

1. Zack Pomerleau

Zack Pomerleau Pianissimo User

Oct 6, 2008
    Hey everyone! I'm sure some of you have seen my posts, I'm a complete beginner with trumpets. I don't even have one yet. I'm posting this in regards to learning the lip buzz. Since I don't have a horn yet I figured I'd at least practice this to be proactive.

I've been practicing my embouchure by saying "M" and then making a "p" kind of sound to open the lips enough. As I have watched a bunch of videos, I've found the the sides of the mouth are not up like a smile of course and I have that like I want it, but I'm not understanding something.

How tight should the sides of the mouth be? Should I be tightening the sides of my mouth to a noticeable degree? I have heard some people say it should be tight, but I'm not sure what that means exactly. I'm hoping to hear what all you have to say about this as I'm not having much in way of results (I have had some though, but I'm worried I'm going too tight).

2. trickg

trickg Utimate User

Oct 26, 2003
    Baltimore/DC
    Skip it. Buzzing your lips and forming a successful embouchure with your lips are going to be completely unrelated for someone who has no idea what a good embouchure should feel like and do. Besides that, although there are guys who will do some free buzzing, or will use just a mouthpiece or leadpipe of their horn, there are a lot of trumpet players who don't do buzzing exercises at all.

3. trumpetsplus

trumpetsplus Fortissimo User

Jun 11, 2006
    South Salem, NY
    I also say skip it.

It is not what you do independent of the instrument, it is how you have your body relate to the instrument. The trumpet is not something "out there" like you can say drums, keyboards, guitars etc are, it is an extension of your body.

4. Zack Pomerleau

Oct 6, 2008