The luxury of buying...

Discussion in 'Trumpet Discussion' started by Plithos, Feb 14, 2008.

1. Plithos

Plithos Pianissimo User

Jun 4, 2007
    Greece
    Hello to all...
    today i came face to face with a problem i keep having since i started to take trumpet playing a little more seriously..
    i am a postgraduate student and a columnist in periodical press..
    not that well payed to be honest..i'm playing in a small group and we make live concerts from times to times... doesn't feed me..

i do have a really nice thing with collections in my life..
    it seems that the microbe infected my musical enstict...
    my problem is this one and i'm pretty sure many of you have it...

i'm looking all the time in the internet for sales of trumpets just for fun, to be informed of the traffic...
    the thing is, at times, i came across (bloody phrasal verbs) some pretty good deals..whether these are in the price or the item...
    what do i/we/you do at this point..

by the way, that's how i bought my X3. a very good deal!!
    today i saw a YAMAHA YHF-631 copper flugelhorn.. most of you should know it..
    i was that close to bid on it and the last minute i withdraw...many were my thoughts.. do i need that? not necesserily.. it's a good deal though.. do i have the money? yeah, but then i have to tighten up my belt..for a while...
    what about my desire.. just to get it? or the fact that horns like that aren't that easy to find as time passes by.. or that it's a copper model and you can't find, in that kind of money, a copper model anymore..
    for the record, it was about 507 euros or 850$... a good deal considering that new price is around 1500$..

what do you think?
    do we buy a really good deal (regardless the relative meaning of the word "good)? or just wait for the right time, when we have the money or the REAL need...?

thanks a lot..
    (i drink to the next!!:cool: )

2. wuzzard

wuzzard New Friend

Feb 14, 2008