The question must be asked!!!

Discussion in 'Horns' started by miles71, Nov 9, 2004.

1. miles71

miles71 Mezzo Piano User

Nov 8, 2004
    Maryland
    Ok guys,
    I am new to TM and heres a little background. For the past 8 years I was a high school band director and had little time to play my horn. Before that I was a freelance player while getting my under-grad degree. Had all the horns from two b flats to picc. While teaching I got a Masters Degree and had quite a few private students. (yes I went home every once in a while). Short of a "life story", I have moved and am no longer teaching.

Since the move I have been able to play much more than usual (very nice). I am at the point where it feels good to play, just wish I could get back to the level I was about 9 years ago. I am again thinking about a new horn. I presently play a Yamaha Xeno 8335RGS and think it is a great horn. I need something that can do it all - concert band, lead work, small group, etc. The Xeno does all of that with some small problems, but is still the best horn I've owned.

The Big Question!!!! What is the best pro horn for all around playing? I have read about the Eclipse and must say it has my attention. I live in "Bach Country" but only had one of them I liked, so any help would be great. Would be nice to hear you backgrounds as well. Thanks for the help.

2. Castle Bravo

Castle Bravo Piano User

Nov 6, 2003
    Sche├člitz, Germany
    I'm a little biased toward Eclipse as their webmaster, but here's my 2 cents.

I have been playing for 19 years, am currently in the Army band program. I do a lot of lead work, lot of dixie, brass quintet, basically whatever people want to hear. Enough about that.